FAQs Collaborate

Browse by Category

FAQ › How do I...? › Category: Collaborate
How can I send a PDF file of a project as an email attachment?
Question Link
Answer

To Send a PDF file of a project use Share menu – Send as PDF, a PDF file will be generated based on the project you have. This PDF file is sent as an attachment.

Can I see a project from my phone if I received it by email link?
Question Link
Answer

You can view the project on a small screen phone device.

How can I share a project through email link?
Question Link
Answer

You can send an email link with the project only if the project is saved on a cloud service as My Projects -Drive 365, Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive, Box or SharePoint Online. To do so, click the menu Share - Share as Link.

How can I enter in real-time collaboration mode?
Question Link
Answer

Please follow the steps below in order to access the real-time collaboration feature:
1. Sign In with your email and password inside Project Plan 365 app.
2. Go to File - Open - My Projects – Drive 365.
3. Select the mpp file from cloud and click open.
4. A pop-up window will appear: "Do you want to open this project in exclusive mode?"
5. Press No.
6. Now you are in Collaborative mode.

How can I use Master project and subprojects feature on MPP files?
Question Link
Answer

In order to use the Master project and subprojects feature, you need to upgrade to business trial from Online Portal if you do not have a Business Subscription.

Just Sign in with your email and password in Online Portal page then click on Upgrade to Business button: https://www.projectplan365.com/ups/Account/SignIn.

Then, open Project Plan 365 application and Sign In with your email and password (look upper right corner for Sign In button). Save your projects to your Business Drive 365 folder.

After all your projects were saved on Drive 365, you can create a master plan by adding the subprojects from menu Project - Subproject - Drive 365.

How can I change the collaboration timeout?
Question Link
Answer

You can customize the inactivity period before the file in collaboration mode closes. In order to do that, go to the File menu and select Options. Select the Advanced tab and from General Options customize the Collaboration Timeout as you desire. For changes to take effect, click OK. The minimum value for the collaboration timeout option is 5 minutes and the maximum is 120 minutes.

What is a Share Link?
Question Link
Answer
A Share Link is an URL of your project. This is the reason why the project needs to be saved on a cloud storage platform in order to be able to generate it.
How can I generate a link for my project?
Question Link
Answer

You can get a link to your project only if it is saved on a cloud platform by clicking Team - Share Link. That will get a link to your project saved on Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive, Box or SharePoint Online to manually share it with your team. You also get a link for team members to view the project on a small screen phone device. Viewing and updating the project require authentication on the cloud platforms or SharePoint, respectively, and permissions need to be granted there, otherwise the application will warn the team members that they do not have enough rights to view / update the MPP file.

Please give me more information about Drive 365.
Question Link
Answer
My Projects-Drive 365 is a feature that allow users to seamlessly store their MPP files to a personal folder without creating a cloud storage account.
Does the Subproject’s Wbs reflect the WBS numbering flow in the master or does the Subproject retain its Wbs numbering?
Question Link
Answer
The subproject will retain the WBS numbering. Only the Summary Subproject Task will have a calculated WBS based on his position in Master Project.
Is a collaboration between employees possible under 365 business only, or also with 365 individual?
Question Link
Answer
The collaboration mode is possible only with the Business Subscription. Each member must have a Business Subscription in order to collaborate.