I have just started trial. When I request a save, it does not give me option of placing the file in a specific directory.
If your file is already saved in a location, when you click on File- Save the file is overwritten with the new changes.
If your file is not saved yet, please go to menu File-Save As in order to select the location. Also, if your file is not saved yet on another location and you go to menu File-Save you will need to select the location where to save the file.