Auto Save

Online Help > Auto Save

Help protect your files in case of a crash

Crashes happen. The power goes out. And sometimes, people accidentally close a file without saving. To avoid losing all your work when stuff like that happens, we turned on AutoSave by default.

  1. Click File > Options >General Settings >General Options.
  2. Make sure the Autosave a copy every x minutes box is selected.

Important:  The Save button is still your best friend. To be sure you don’t lose your latest work, click Save Button image (or press Ctrl+S) often.

Tips

To be extra safe, enter a small number in the minutes box, like 10. That way, you’ll never lose more than 10 minutes of work.

On the other hand, if you want to make application faster, try entering a larger number in the minutes box, like 20.

Recover last project file

Important: In addition to saving regularly, ensuring that Autosave a copy is turned on is a critical part of protecting your work.

If you’ve saved the file

If you were working on a file and saving regularly when the file was closed unexpectedly, you can restore the last version that was saved.
  1. Open the file you were working on.
  2. Click File > Open >Open Unsaved Project

You may also like: