Inactive tasks

Online Help > Inactive tasks

Inactivate a task 

Inactive tasks appear dimmed with a strikethrough. 

When you inactivate a task, it stays in the plan, but does not affect resource availability, the project schedule, or how other tasks are scheduled.  

This feature is available in Project Plan on all Gantt views 

How to inactivate a task?  

You can inactivate a task using Task Information or from Active column 

Inactivate task using Task Information  

1. Select task

2. Open task information

3. Check Inactive

The inactive task stays in the task list, but the text is grayed out and has a line through it. 

To reactivate a task, open Task Information and uncheck Inactive – check box 

Inactivate task using Active column 

With the Active field, you can inactivate tasks to remove them from the plan. Inactive tasks remain available for use in a later phase, a later project, or for reporting or historical purposes. Unlike deleted tasks, inactive tasks are recoverable and can be returned to active status if needed.  

Insert Active column select No to inactivate task. 

To reactivate task just select Yes in Active column. Reactivated tasks retain any dependencies, constraints, or resource assignments associated with them. 

Best Uses    The Active field is useful when various proposals are being presented for a plan and ultimately one course of action will be selected. The Active field is also useful when a task or set of tasks is being cut because of a scaling back of project scope. With the Active field, you can experiment with inactivating and reactivating tasks to see the resulting schedule effects. 

Only the active tasks are considered part of the plan, but a record of the inactive tasks and their properties still exist for historical purposes, or for reactivation into the plan at a later time 

Example    Your team is planning the development of a new product that has a long list of features represented in the Project plan. After estimating feature costs, examining priorities, and reviewing the desired date to market, you know you need to make feature cuts. You add the Active field to a task sheet, and select No for the features being proposed for cuts. When you remove those features, the schedule and costs are adjusted in the Project plan. At the next status meeting, you present a report listing the inactivated items. If a stakeholder insists that a certain feature be returned to the project, you reactivate the tasks associated with that feature.  

Remarks   You can easily hide inactive tasks by filtering them out. On the Project menu, click the arrow next to Filter, and then click Active