FAQCategory: ShareHow do I use the Exclusive and Real-Time Collaboration modes?

How do I use the Exclusive and Real-Time Collaboration modes?

1 Answers

There are two modes in which you can open a project from Drive 365: exclusive and real-time collaboration. In the exclusive mode, you are the only one who can edit the project. If you are on a Mac device you have the possibility to edit the file in Read-Only Mode but cannot overwrite it. In real-time collaboration mode, multiple team members can make changes to the same project at the same time.
Only a team member with Editor role can enter in exclusive or real-time collaboration mode.
As an editor, when opening a project from Drive 365, it will be automatically opened in Exclusive mode if the file is not opened in Exclusive mode by another team member.
If the file is already opened in exlusive mode by another team member, you will receive the following message: “Currently the project is opened by … in Editing Mode. Please wait for him to close the file first.” Click on the Ok, I’ll open the project later button.
If you are on a Mac device you will get the following message: “Currently the project is opened by … in Editing Mode. Click ‘Read-Only’ to open the file in read-only mode.” Click on the Read-Only button to open the project. You will be able to edit the file but won’t be able to save it over the original file from Drive 365, instead you can save it to a different storage location. Click on the Cancel button if you don’t want to open the project in Read-Only mode.
If the file is already opened in Real-Time Collaboration mode, you will automatically enter also in Collaboration mode.

Contact
Chat