Browse by Category
Question Link
To clear the baseline for selected tasks, first select the tasks (using the Shift or Ctrl keys) then go to Project – Set Baseline – Clear Baseline. In the Clear Baseline dialog select the “Clear baseline plan” field option and from the drop-down menu select the desired Baseline – select the “Selected tasks” option and click the “OK” button. For detailed information about Baselines, see the Baseline Online Help Article.
Question Link
To set a Baseline for the entire project click Project – Set Baseline. In the Set Baseline dialog select “Entire project” and click the “OK” button. This way the Baseline for the Entire Project will be set. The Baseline will be set when you Save your project. For detailed information about Baselines, see the Baseline Online Help Article.
Question Link
A baseline saves nearly 20 pieces of information, including totals and time phased information for tasks, resources, and assignments. Baseline will essentially store 5 things: cost, work, duration, start date and finish date. The baseline is a copy of the Start, Finish, Work, and Cost for all the Resources, plus Duration for all the Tasks in your project. When you do a baseline you save the following data about the project at that specific point in time. For detailed information about Baselines, see the Baseline Online Help Article.
Question Link
To clear the baseline for the entire project, go to the menu Project – Set Baseline – Clear Baseline. In the Clear Baseline dialog select the “Clear baseline plan” field option and from the drop-down menu select the desired Baseline – select the “Entire project” option and click the “OK” button. For detailed information about Baselines, see the Baseline Online Help Article.
Question Link
The Critical Path cannot be edited, it is automatically calculated depending on your project’s schedule. Therefore, for the Critical Path to be modified, you have to make the changes in the schedule. For detailed information about Critical Path, see the Critical Path Online Help Article.
Question Link
You cannot mark a task as a critical task. A task is critical based on the calculation made in the project. A critical task needs to have the total slack 0. For detailed information about Critical Path, see the Critical Path Online Help Article.
Question Link
In order to find the Critical Path, go to menu Project - Critical Path. All the tasks that are on a critical path will have the task bar red in Gantt Chart view. For detailed information about Critical Path, see the Critical Path Online Help Article.
Question Link
If you don’t want to level, you can try other ways to resolve overallocations.
- Replace one resource with another who is available to work at that time.
- Replace more skilled resources on critical tasks early in the project. A more skilled resource is likely to get the same job done in less time.
- Change a task link so that some tasks start at the same time.
- Spread the workload out by Increase the duration of tasks with overallocated resources.
- Reduce workload by reducing the amount of work required for completing the task.
- Change the working hours of resources to shorten the duration of tasks.
- Reduce the duration of tasks, especially critical tasks that directly impact the project end date.
- Check that resources are not working during non-working time. If a resource is working during non-working hours, Project will show them as overallocated.
For detailed information about Resource Overallocation, see the Resource Overallocation Online Help Article.
Question Link
To level tasks for certain resources, go to “Team” menu and click the “Level Resource” button. In the “Level Resources” dialog, select the resources for which you want to level tasks and click the “OK” button. A summary of how Project Plan 365 fixed the overallocation will be displayed. Click the “OK” button for the changes to be applied. For detailed information about Resource Leveling, see the Resource Leveling Online Help Article.
Question Link
To level only the selected tasks, go to “Team” menu and click the “Level All” button. In the “Resource Leveling” dialog, the “Selected tasks” option and click the “OK” button. A summary of how Project Plan 365 fixed the overallocation will be displayed. Click the “OK” button for the changes to be applied. For detailed information about Resource Leveling, see the Resource Leveling Online Help Article.
Question Link
To level the entire project, go to “Team” menu and click the “Level All” button. In the “Resource Leveling” dialog, the “Entire Project” option and click the “OK” button. A summary of how Project Plan 365 fixed the overallocation will be displayed. Click the “OK” button for the changes to be applied. For detailed information about Resource Leveling, see the Resource Leveling Online Help Article.
Question Link
Use resource leveling technique to resolve resource overallocation in tasks. Project Plan 365 evaluates resource allocations and adjusts your plans so that your resources are not overallocated. For detailed information about Resource Leveling, see the Resource Leveling Online Help Article.
Question Link
Resource leveling is a technique in which start and finish dates are adjusted based on resource limitation with the goal of balancing demand for resources with the available supply. For detailed information about Resource Leveling, see the Resource Leveling Online Help Article.
Question Link
In order to use the Master Project and Subprojects feature, you need to upgrade to business trial from Online Portal if you do not have a Business Subscription.
For more information about how to Upgrade to Business trial, please follow the steps in the Start 14-days Business Trial online help article.
Then, save your projects to your Business Drive 365 folder or to your local device. After all your projects were saved on Drive 365 or local device, you can create a master plan by adding the subprojects from menu Project - Subproject - Drive 365 or Computer.
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
To edit the Actual Start and Actual FInish fields, go to menu Format - Insert Column - select Actual Start/FInish - click OK. Type in the desired value in the Actual Start or Actual Finish field.
As a workaround, after you created your plan, you can also set a baseline in order to see a difference between Planned Start Date and Actual Start Date. In this way, the Scheduled Start date is in fact the Baseline Date.
After this, if your task actually starts on other date you can change the Start Date for that task. This will be the Actual Date. So, the Actual Date is in fact is the Start Date and the Scheduled Date is the Baseline Date you set in the application when you initially created your plan.
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link
Question Link